Moving forward.

by Jane

I’ve been trying very hard over the past three or four months to figure out what my blog “is”: for me, for my readers, for artists. How is it different than the work I do for other publications? Should it be different than the work I do for other publications?

Many reviews have been lost while I’ve been grappling with this, but I don’t think I want it to be just another space for 800 word reviews. So, I’m going to try something new. For now, this means my work here will only be longform. It will only take the big picture. I won’t feel guilty about not writing about everything. I’ll only write about things where I’m driven to write something that looks at the world as bigger than the stage.

This may mean seeing productions twice. This may mean referencing the script in great detail. This may mean referencing other reviews. This may mean none of those things. This may fail. But this is my public proclamation that I’m going to try. First piece up this week.

