Coming up in Adelaide

by Jane

Just trying this out, a small “what’s on in theatre Adelaide” as per what has come across my radar.  Mainly coming out of the fact that these are things I will sadly be missing this weekend, because I will happily be in Launceston, but which I recommend if you’re looking for something arty to do:

Vitalstatistix Theatre Company are running Adhocracy down at their home Waterside this Friday and Saturday.  Take a cutorial team, make them get sixteen artists, five provocateurs, shut them in a room together for two days, and see what happens.  So what does happen?  I don’t quite know what you would expect: and there-in lies the excitement.  Members of the public can watch the process, get involved or just observe this Saturday night from 5pm, before being shown the final product, and dancing the night away.  A great opportunity to see our artists create work which is raw, intimate and immediate.  And look out for some stuff from the bunch of writers/bloggers they’ve invited to the Friday night, hopefully for your internet reading enjoyment.  I think they should just do the whole thing over for me when I get back, yes?

Vitals creative Producer Emma Webb says:

Despite our plethora of city-based festivals, in Adelaide there are rare opportunities for artists to immerse themselves in hybrid and collaborative space.  Adhocracy is inspired by interstate events such as This Is Not Art and Underbelly, where interdisciplinary artists are invited to collaborate, critique and create on the spot.  For this year’s inaugural Adhocracy we’re bringing together 25 highly talented performance-makers, visual artists, bloggers, writers digital artist, and composers in a massive mash-up.  For audiences it’s about seeing art-making uncovered in a highly-charged, inspiring, unravelling evening at Waterside.

Yeah, look at those copy-paste skills.  Damn straight.  (With any luck the artists will be doing more than that).

At the Dunstan Playhouse, the State Theatre Company play their final weekend of romeo&julietgo see it and join in on the debate.  Personally, I think you’ll find something great.  If you’re not entirely sure, you can get $25 rush tickets (or pay-what-you can with Healthcare card) to the Wednesday 6:30 evening, or Sunday 5pm matinée, from the box office one hour before the show.

Brink are playing their first weekend of Harbinger in previews, by that young so-and-so which wrote a mildly amusing play, Fugitive (okay, okay, so it was it was brilliant!  I’m just upset my superior modelling/photographic skills will never make it to Windmill’s facebook *sob*).  Matthew Whittet’s second world première in Adelaide in as many months, Harbinger is your traditional and friendly “Boy meets girl, girl eats boy” stories which we all grew up with in our terribly disturbing childhood nightmares.  They will also be doing live captioned performances of the show on September 4th – how cool is that?  Let’s make it standard, Adelaide!  Also, tickets start at just $19.95 for GreenRoom members!  Adelaide ticket prices can be awesome, I’m sorry.

For something a little off our mainstages, Bad Company present The Adventures Of Dead Jim at the Bakehouse.  For a good read, take a look at why producer Matthew Vecchio thinks you need to support the bigger slice of Adelaide culture.  Coming from “an environment of frustration cured by a resistance”, I hope I’ll be able to squeeze it in next week, but not sure on my chances.   $22 full price?  Where can you get that?!

If you’re hanging out with kids, Patch will be bringing the great Gillian Rubinstein books Sharon, Keep Your Hair On! to life at the Odeon.  “Jase, we need more space.  We’ll have to move to a bigger place.”  “Sharon, keep your hair on, we’ll just build a little more on!”  Yes, yes I do love children’s books.  Why do you ask?

And finally, I probably don’t need to tell you on the other end of the spectrum, David Campbell will be presenting his solo The Broadway Show at the Festival Theatre.  It’s no secret I love the Cabaret Festival, and I think it’s perfectly acceptable to see something crazy and raw and innovative one day, and something slick and polished the next.

If you think I’ve missed something out, let me know in the comments and make me jealous of yet another thing I won’t be going to!

See you next week Adelaide!  For my crazy Junction 2010 / Launceston adventures (the appointment to get my hair cut by a ten year old has been made!) check out Lowdown Magazine.  I’ll try to have some stuff up here, too!

